And Then There Was One

IMG_4077-001

George and the remaining Peeper

My apologies for the delay in posting, yet again.  It’s taken me a few days to figure out how to write this objectively, and without cussing.  It continues to be a rough road for the cygnets this year.   One of the two remaining cygnets was grabbed by a snapping turtle, just behind one of his legs.  I’ll spare you the gory details of the injury.  A rescue group was contacted & he was taken to an avian veterinary hospital, but the damage to the tendons was too great.

I spoke with a wildlife rehabilitator, who is very knowledgeable about waterfowl in general, and about the predators that pose the greatest danger to them.   I had a lot of questions because the location of the injury seemed very unusual.  What it came down to was this:  There were three men fishing at the lake that evening.  They were casting, then slowly drawing the lure back in to attract the fish, and they were doing this near where the swans were located.  By doing this, they brought the snapping turtles closer to the surface, as they were going to go where the fish were going.  The Peeper was very possibly just in the way of a turtle going for a fish, and was in the wrong place at the wrong time.  So, while the cygnet died because of a snapping turtle, his death was very probably a direct result of irresponsible fishermen.

Don’t get me wrong.  I have no issues with fishing for sport or for fun.  I do, however, have issues with people who fish without regard to the wildlife that live there.  These same three men left at least two soft lures laying in the grass where they could easily have been ingested by a duck, goose or swan.  Like I said, irresponsible.  I have now been added to the list of those who have permission from the community to run off anyone fishing at the lake if they don’t have written permission to be there, and believe me I plan to do just that.    There’s still one cygnet to protect, and I’ll be damned if I’ll let idiots endanger its life.  (Oh, and I almost made it without cussing!  😉 )

IMG_4216-001

The Lone Peeper

IMG_4196-001

The Lone Peeper relaxing

There have been a lot of fun, entertaining and/or interesting things happening at the lake as well.  It hasn’t all been bad!  For instance, Martha is in the middle of her annual molt.  Her beautiful flight feathers are scattered all over the shore.

IMG_4703-001

Half of Martha’s wing feathers are gone, temporarily

IMG_4803-001

The lack of flight feathers doesn’t keep her from reigning over the geese. She still rules, but at a much slower pace.

IMG_4059-001

George, showing off the fact that he still has his wing feathers. (His turn’s next, but I don’t want to burst his bubble.)

IMG_4268-001

Dinner with dad

IMG_4265-001

George needs a bib. And a good face scrubbing. Any volunteers?

I was really surprised to see Cedar Waxwings still hanging around.  They usually just pass through as they migrate, but one pair apparently decided to stay for awhile.

IMG_4143-001

Cedar Waxwing

IMG_4160-001

Cedar Waxwing

There was a whole lotta’ peeping going on in a bush near the water, so of course I had to investigate.  I found this little fuzzball hiding out.  He was pretty small, but trust me when I tell you that he has some pretty impressive lung power.  I couldn’t figure out what type of bird he was going to grow up to be, so I decided to hang back a bit and see if a parent would show up.

IMG_4280-001

Mystery baby

After about five minutes, dad showed up with dinner.  What a nice surprise to find out I’d just seen my first baby Baltimore Oriole!  (I owe my friend Jerry a thank you here.  I originally assumed this was the mom, but he let me know that the dark orange coloring belongs to the male while the female is more yellow.  This year marks the first time I’ve gotten to see these birds, so I appreciated the information.)

IMG_4310-001

Dad with dinner

IMG_4314-001

A target that’s tough to miss!

I hadn’t seen the female Wood duck in about a month, then suddenly she showed up very briefly two nights in a row to join in on a cracked corn and whole oats dinner.

IMG_4051-001

Wood Duck hen

Then she disappeared again for a few days.  Night before last, she showed up again but seemed wary of approaching which was unusual for her.  Then two little ones came into view!  She kept a pretty good distance (thus the grainy photo) until I left the area.

IMG_4778-001

My Wood Duck friend with her two little ones

She showed up with the little ones again last night, but I only had to back up about 30 feet before she felt comfortable coming to get the corn.  Unfortunately, there were storms building and the light was still horrible.

IMG_4854-001

Two baby Wood Ducks

IMG_4838-001

Wood Duck family

IMG_4896-002

The two baby Wood Ducks (Wood Ducklings? Wood Duck Ducklings? How much wood would a Wood Duck chuck…)

And I was entertained by five young Northern Rough Winged swallows who landed in a tree right in front of me.  They sat and waited while the parents swooped all over the lake, trying to catch enough bugs to feed all of them.

IMG_4656-001

Young Northern Rough Winged Swallows, waiting for a food delivery

Finally, as I said earlier there was a storm building in the area.  The clouds were slowly billowing upward, and there were streaks of clouds around them that showed just how strong the winds were up there.   The next three photos were taken with about 30 seconds in between.

IMG_4792-001

Storm clouds

IMG_4781-001

Storm clouds

IMG_4787-001

Storm clouds

Thanks for taking a walk with me!

9 thoughts on “And Then There Was One

  1. I wonder if the turtles have come to expect easy pickings among the swans because the swans don’t leave. And they don’t leave because they have such easy pickings. It’s a hard thing to watch but nature doesn’t give many second chances.
    I love the shots of the clouds and the orioles!

    • Thank you! The lake is very old, and quite large. There are a lot of fish and frogs in there as well, so the snapping turtles have quite a menu to choose from. Also, snapping turtles are in just about every body of water in this area, including rivers and streams, so getting rid of them isn’t an easy task. They’re literally everywhere, and in large numbers. The community does their best to trap and relocate, but they’re barely making a dent.

  2. There have been times when I’ve been watching flocks of geese in small ponds, and a few geese will squawk, and quickly change direction, even backing up at times. Then, no geese will fill in the small hole in the flock for some time. I’ve wondered if they have sensed a snapper lurking under the surface and taken evasive action.

    If you need any help running the fishermen off, let me know, any one leaving things around that the wildlife could injure themselves with should be shot!

    • That’s interesting. I wonder if more experienced waterfowl know how to tell if there’s a turtle nearby. That would explain how George and Martha have never been injured.

      As for the fishermen, if I run into these jerks again & I run into any trouble with them I’ll let you know. 😉 I’ll tell them I’m calling my friend Guido to take care of their kneecaps. Think you can do a Godfather accent?

  3. Gunta says:

    So sorry to hear about the peepers being down to one. It’s sad because we got so attached to them through your wonderful blog, but such is life for the wild ones. I support your fight against the fishermen. Are they just ignorant, or don’t they care?

  4. Thanks Gunta! It’s probably a little of both ignorance and apathy. We don’t have a lot of professional fishermen around here. Only hobbyists. Some of them do care about the footprint they leave behind, but some don’t realize, and don’t bother to find out, how leaving lures, fishing line, or trash lying around can harm wildlife.

  5. tootlepedal says:

    I hope you can help to keep the last one safe. Delightful pictures.

  6. Prayers headed your way for your peeper to stay safe. Loved all your adorable babies! 🙂

Leave a comment